Advanced Change Theory

Managing change can be very difficult, even in the best of times; which, many of us would agree we are not currently in.  So, how can leaders not just effectively manage change the change thrust upon them, but be the source of the change for good?  It’s not so easy I can assure you.

In my work experience, I have seen a lot of different types of change management.  Of the three, I would have to say that I have most experienced the coercion technique, with a smattering of logical persuasion.   I can’t really recall a time that I was lucky enough to have a normative-reeducative strategy tried with any of the groups of which I have been a part.

So why is Advanced Change Theory so appealing?  Mainly because it takes the best pieces of each of the three strategies I mentioned about and molds them into a cohesive change management strategy.

When I look at the 12 principles that make up Advanced Change Theory, I have to say I resonate and are in some ways modeling the behaviors necessary to achieve the following principles: creating an emergent system, developing a vision for common good, takes action to curb chaos, inspires others to enact their best selves, and changes self (not so much yet on changing the system, but trying).

I can’t say I am ready to starve myself or march up the mall in Washington to effect change, but I am certainly ready to try a method of adaptive change that can make a real difference in my organization.

Leave a Reply

