1/1/10 A “Brand” New Me!

Like many people will do today, I am sitting here reflecting on what I have accomplished in the past decade and what I would like to accomplish in the next.  This is a particularly important decade for me as I believe that your forties are a pivotal time in your career.  It’s the time when you can really make a meaningful difference in the business world because you are old/high enough (in your career) for the heads of your company to listen to you and you are young enough to have the energy to make things happen.  So with this heavy burden now starting to form on my shoulders, I say “I can do it.” 

 Now that I have a will, I need a way.  Those of you that know me understand that I have a passion for practical and useful marketing strategies and market research.  Specifically, I live to improve the processes by which I conduct market research and build/implement marketing strategies.  So, back to the “the way” part.  I am going to be using this blog to not only educate myself on the new and up-in-coming marketing and market research methodologies and strategies, but my readers as well.   

So as I set out on this journey, I will be searching for, evaluating and reporting on the next generation of marketing and market research.  I will also be discussing specific topics of marketing and market research from which I think my readers would benefit. I hope you enjoy the journey as much as I do.  In my next series of blogs, I will be setting the framework for my blog going forward.  All comments are welcome, I like hearing ideas from others interested in this topic.

 Happy New Year!

Sharon

4 responses to this post.

  1. Good intro Sharon! Do you have any advice for us who are just getting started in our careers?

    Reply

  2. Posted by sharonmarkovsky on January 1, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    You are doing the most important thing right now…. increasing your education and skill level.

    After that, I think that it is important that you find a mentor in the field in which you are interested in building a career. Your mentor can help you not only from the “real world” perspective, but he/she can probably open up some doors for you in terms of a job. Are you planning to stay in IT?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Michelle on January 1, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Looks like u have a good career strategy down… How does the work-life balance factor in?
    It’d be cool to make a strategy for life too- maybe that is what fb is for…??? Hmm..

    Reply

    • Posted by sharonmarkovsky on January 3, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Michelle, very good point! It is really important to have a life strategy as well as a business strategy. This is particularly important when you have children (and a spouse).

      Many of us women feel a strong desire to succeed and that desire can cause a severe work-life inbalance. I would be lying if I said that I am in balance at this point in my career, but I am working on that as well!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

