Combating Social Media Inertia

Because of my traditional marketing (and market research) background, I have to say it took me a long time to become a social media “believer”. The reasons for my lag time, and I would suspect the collective inertia on the part of other marketers, are:

50%—I never really had a good guru/teacher (thanks to Dr. Bret I saw the light).

25%—I have had many bad experiences with ad agencies who bill themselves as social media experts, but who are instead social media tourists. My complaint with these ad agencies stems from their lack of practicing what they preach. They tell you that you have to actively engage people on a one-to-one basis on twitter and other social media sites. Sounds good, but are the agencies doing that on a consistent basis? Hmmm…not as far as I can tell. They will also tell you that to be viewed as an expert and thus to be successful in social media, you need to actively blog..even if no one is listening. Ok, got it. So where’s there blog? Why aren’t they blogging every day? They don’t have the resources they tell me. My next question has to be okay, “why do you think I am less busy than you?”

25%—I hadn’t really seen a reliable quantification of the value social media brings to a company.

I have gotten over my social media barrier with Dr. Bret’s help and I have resigned myself to never getting over my second barrier (with the social media tourist agencies), I decided to focus my attention on my third issue…quantification of the value of social media. As I pondered this issue, I was wondering how other marketers felt about the effectiveness of social media. Here’s what I found on eMarketer (by way of Datran Media’s 4th Annual Marketing & Media Survey) that made me feel at least a little better:

• Six in 10 respondents to Datran Media’s “4th Annual Marketing & Media Survey” said measuring and understanding their audience was a priority, and more than 87% said accurate online audience measurement was at least somewhat important for driving increased brand awareness, revenues or performance.

• Just over one-half think they will, but nearly four in 10 are unsure.

emarketer (click here to see the charts)

Respondents to the Datran survey—who are heavily invested in the social space, with about 72% having Facebook and Twitter profiles—were most likely to track all their online campaigns based on clicks (72%), conversions (59.2%) and impressions (58.4%). Conversions were considered the most important metric to track. This is most important to me. Show me the money!

While the data suggests that measurement is progressing in a meaningful way, I really like how eMarketer put it: “There is a leap, however, between finding appropriate metrics and monitoring them on the one hand, and quantifying results on the other. Marketers must tie the social metrics they settle on directly to business goals, such as increased sales and leads, before social media return on investment can be quantified.”

Happy Marketing!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I love this, Sharon! You are so correct that many agencies are full of folks that are selling a service they don’t fully understand because they don’t practice it themselves. That’s where folks like you come in. Your digital citizenship is becoming well established, which puts you in a very unique position to be able to help businesses that need to understand this stuff. Keep up the great work! Bret

    Reply

  2. Posted by sharonmarkovsky on April 9, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Bret,
    Thank you for being such a great role model to us “newbies” on the social marketing scene. It is great to have a social marketing guru that is so willing to share his expertice and wants to help others elevate themselves! I am proud to be a productive social media citizen!

    Thanks again!
    Sharon

    Reply

  3. Thank you for your perspective and viewpoints Sharon, very nice. If I may I’ll add to the mix a new article that was submitted to my site regarding Twitter and global consciousness. Again thank you for your post Sharon.

    Reply

  4. Measuring the effectivenss of social media is key.

    Here’s my current approach:

    When measuring the effectiveness of a social media strategy social media managers might consider approaching their measurement techniques from a short-term and long-term approach. When you first enter into the social media marketing realm, your primary goal is to pick the right platforms or sites (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, etc), publish great content, increase your audience or following while simultaneously attempting to start conversations with your new found friends. How well you do these things as you implement your social media strategy and plan should be your first measuring rod called “Measuring Social Media Implementation and Effectiveness”. Free Twitter applications like Tweetstat, Klout, and Tweet Counter (just to name a few) can assist with measuring your Twitter effectiveness and both YouTube and Facebook have their own analytic tools to help with tracking effectiveness on their
    sites.

    Once you have good content, have successfully built a strong following and tweaked your strategy, then you can start to get creative and launch some social media campaigns that will actually generate revenue that can be directly tied to your social media efforts making it easy to measure Return on Investment (ROI).

    Reply

    • Posted by sharonmarkovsky on April 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      Lafate,
      I love this approach! Great insight into how to get started!

      Thank you for your very insightful comments!
      Sharon

      Reply

  5. […] advantage of social media.  Maybe they are struggling with the same things I did (see my blog on Combating social media inertia), but why not take advantage of at least the free stuff as it relates to social […]

    Reply

  6. […] one are you?” I really enjoyed this blog as it relates to a blog a did a while back entitled “Combating Social Media Inertia” […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

