Brands really do matter…

In a time when we all are tightening our belts and making “smart” purchases, isn’t it interesting that there are some brands that we just can’t live without? And, brands for which we won’t even consider trying a generic brand?  It’s funny, you would think that we, as marketers, would be less susceptible to the “marketing” of a brand.  But nope, we are just as gullible as the rest of them.  I am a perfect example.  I have been seeing TV and print ads for about a year now extolling the virtues of owning Shape Up sneakers from Sketchers.  My 5-year-old son asks incessantly for the police car and NASCAR Sketchers.

I have resisted even checking into these shoes because quite frankly they are ugly.  Yes, I said it…they are ugly.  The most ugly are the “sandals” version of the shape ups.  They truly look like the footwear fashion of the local nursing home jet set.  So if you haven’t figured it out yet…yes I bought the Sketcher sandals.  And yes, they are ugly…but boy is my butt going to look great!  As long as people don’t look down at my feet, I will be all good.

So back to the point of the story…brands, they do matter.  I had the choice of buying the “bo bo” brand (generic brand, it’s a Philly thing) at Payless, but I had to pay 2 or 3 times as much at the Sketchers store.  Why?  I am guessing that the Payless brand is just as good.  So why did I rely on the brand name?  Something in my head called out and told me that it was Sketchers or nothing.

I have to applaud Sketchers for doing such a good job at marketing their Shape Ups.  While most of my brain is telling me that the chance a simple shoe choice is going to make up for the cake I ate at lunch today is slim to none, my heart (and butt) beg to differ.  So yes, brands do matter if appropriately and consistently marketed–even to us marketing folks that should know better.

Happy marketing!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by staceyraits on April 12, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I was already convinced that I needed to see you in your Shape Ups sandals. However, ever since your causal mention of the socks you must wear with them “for comfort,” I know that I must see this combination in butt-shaping action.

    I hope you’re wearing J. Crew socks (or something comparable) with those sandals and not some “bo bo” Gold Toe brand socks.

    Reply

  2. Posted by sharonmarkovsky on April 12, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Stacey,
    Good point! I will bite the bullet and wear them on Wednesday…they will go great with my suit! Since I have no brand attachment to socks, I believe I will be wearing the generic walmart brand of socks…so it will be a bo bo brand, but not Gold Toe (too expensive).

    Thanks for your humor! Always appreciated on a Monday!
    Sharon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

