Volvo and Legoland: Product Placement Success Story

There are very few times in life when you write about something and then you experience what you write about within a couple of days of writing it.  This weekend that happened to me.

Those of you following my blog know that I blogged last week about the importance of product placement (Product Placement…the easily forgotten differentiator) as a marketing delivery method.  And in that blog, I gave you lots of suggestions on how you can use the physical placement of your product to help market your company/product. 

My Facebook friends know that I took my son and his friend to Legoland this weekend.   And low and behold…a prime and effective example of product placement presented itself to me (and I thought I would share it with you)!

Check out the picturesI attached my blog.  It’s a Volvo made out of Legos!  What a great product placement idea!  Why?

  1. Volvo’s target market is there–Legoland is expensive…so if you can afford to take the kids and their friends to Legoland, you can probably afford a more expensive car…like the family friendly Volvo.
  2. They are getting past the advertising clutter–
  3. It has staying power–heck I took a picture of it and I also took note of the preferred parking available to anyone driving a Volvo to the park that day…and I bet others now have a picture of a Volvo (Lego-style)in their vacation photo album!
  4. It’s remarkable–I am sure that I am not the only one telling friends and family about the Lego Volvo.

So can you get alot of mileage out of your product placement?  Absolutely!  Just ask Volvo!

Happy Marketing!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sharon, you must have had a psychic moment about product placement (pre-trip). You are right that Volvo couldn’t have picked a more useful way to advertise their family vehicles.

    I am so glad that you were able to find inspiration on your trip!
    Miriam

    Reply

    • Posted by sharonmarkovsky on March 30, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Thanks Miram!

      I just wish that I had brought my Flip! I could have made this a video post!!!

      Thanks again for your comment!
      Sharon

      Reply

  2. Sharon, you are right. That is an extraordinary example of product placement – and in addition to being on target, it is fun, creative however it makes me want a Volvo made out of legos, not a real one! Seriously, it really does stand out amid the clutter of more traditional product placement for sure. Thank you for sharing it.

    Reply

    • Posted by sharonmarkovsky on March 31, 2011 at 7:45 am

      Judy,
      Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and comment! I was blown away by the Lego Volvo….and Legoland in general. Great family vacation place. And from a marketing perspective…kudos to Volvo and Legos!

      Thanks!
      Sharon

      Reply

Leave a Reply

